Email Us:

Services



Kiddush Wine and Cup

Cheltenham is a traditional synagogue and services follow the Ashkenazi minhag.

 

Normally, Shabbat services are held throughout the year on Friday evenings, usually at 7.00 pm, followed by a Kiddush,  Saturday morning services are held from time to time. There are occasional Friday evening services where some English explanation is given to which guests are invited.

 

Significant festivals, holidays and other important events in 2021 are as listed below. Note that the Jewish day begins the evening before and ends after sunset..

 

With the current COVID-19 pandemic most services are online but not during Shabbat or Festivals. 

For further details, please contact our Secretary at info@cheltenhamsynagogue.org.uk:


2022/5782-83

National Holocaust Memorial Day

Thursday 27 January  6.30 pm online

All are welcome.

Tu B'Shevat New Year for Trees

Monday 17 January

Purim Thursday 17 March
Pesach

1st Seder Night Friday 15 April

Last Day Saturday 23 April

Yom Hashoah in the UK

Thursday 28 April

Yom HaZikaron Israeli Memorial Day Wednesday 4 May
Yom HaAtzmaut Israeli Independence Day Thursday 5 May
Lag B'Omer Thursday 19 May
Shavuot Sunday 5 June and Monday 6 June
Tish B'Av Fast of Av Sunday 7 August
Rosh Hashanah

1st Day Monday 26 Septemer

2nd Day Tuesday 27 September

Yom Kippur Wednesday 5 October
Succot                                                                                                                     1st Day Monday 10 October

 

Simchat Torah Tuesday 18 October
Chanukah

First candle to be lit the evening of Sunday 18 December

Last day Monday 26  December


Most of our services are led by lay members of the community, although a Minister is usually invited for the Yom Tovim.