Email Us:

Services



Kiddush Wine and Cup

Cheltenham is a traditional synagogue and services follow the Ashkenazi minhag.

 

Shabbat services are held throughout the year on Friday evenings at 7.00 pm, followed by a Kiddush,  Saturday morning services are held from time to time. Please let us know if you would like to attend one of our occasional Friday evening services where some English explanation is given.

 

Significant festivals, holidays and other important events in 2017 are as follows. Note that the Jewish day starts at sunset and ends at sunset, this is why two days can be given for single dates.

 

Not all services will be held at the Synagogue - for further details, please contact our Secretary at info@cheltenhamsynagogue.org.uk:

2017/5777-8

National Holocaust Memorial Day                Act of Remembrance

Thursday 26 January  6.30 pm Cheltenham Council Chamber, The Promenade

Tu B'Shevat  New Year for Trees

Saturday 11 February

Purim Erev Purim Saturday 11 March, Sunday 12 March
Pesach

1st Seder Night  - Monday 10 April

2nd Seder Night - Tuesday 11 April

Pesach ends Tuesday 18 April

Yom HaShoah     Jewish Holocaust Remembrance Day

Monday 24 April

Yom HaZikaron    Israeli Memorial Day Monday 1 May
Yom HaAtzmaut  Israeli Independence Day Tuesday 2 May
Lag B'Omer Erev Lag B'Omer Saturday 13 May   14 May
Shavuot Erev Shavuot Tuesday 30 May, Wednesday 31 May, Thursday 1 June
Tish B'Av             Fast of Av Tuesday 1 August
Rosh Hashanah

Erev Rosh Hashanah - Wednesday 20 September

1st Day - Thursday 21 September

2nd Day - Friday 22 September

Yom Kippur Erev Yom Kippur - Friday 29 September, Saturday 30 September
Succot Erev Succot Wednesday 4 October, Thursday 5 October until Wednesday 11 October then Erev Shmini Atzeret Wednesday 11 October, Thursday 12 October
Simchat Torah Erev Simchat Torah Thursday 12 October, Friday 13 October
Chanukah

First candle to be lit the evening of Tuesday 12 December

1st Day - Wednesday 13 December

All 8 candles to be lit the evening of Tuesday 19 December


Most of our services are led by lay members of the community, although a Minister is usually invited for the Yom Tovim.